This is a digital mock-up. Actual item may differ.

Singing and Sighing – Collected Stories Vol. 1

D.P. Watt

Choose another edition:
*incl. taxes, excl. shipping


Status available
Release Date 2021
Limitation 199 copies
Size 16 × 24 cm
ISBN 978-3-949341-16-8
Edition numbered edition
Workmanship Thread-stitched hardcover bound in curry-colored fabric and features Zagava’s trademark die cut through which the illustrated boards can be viewed. It comes with a silk ribbon marker and head- and tail-bands of course.


I love how short all these stories are, how succinctly Dan always moves towards his point. Despite the joy in language he never dilly-dallies, never descends into self-indulgence. He understands the privilege of being listened to, the need never to show off. In 'Ophelia', he spreads his literary wings, and we begin to see the true expanse of vision and ability of the writer we have put ourselves into the care of. Of course he will dash us on the rocks of drama, but needless to say he will jump in himself shortly afterwards. We are in terrifying, but exhilarating hands. All bets are off as to where he'll take us next. His subject is the nostalgia and wistfulness of lost childhood, but he finds the way to express it without, paradoxically, subjecting us to any nostalgia.

—Douglas Thompson

About D.P. Watt

D. P. Watt is one of the most highly esteemed authors of weird fiction writing today - „somewhere between E. T. A. Hoffmann, Nabokov and Ligotti“, according to Charles Schneider's characterization of his work. Apart from many essays he has written more than ninety short stories and novellas which have been published in six collections, among them An Emporium of Automata (Ex Occidente, 2010; Eibonvale, 2013), The Phantasmagorical Imperative (Egaeus, 2014; The Interlude House, 2015), Almost Insentient, Almost Divine (Undertow, 2016), and Petals and Violins (Tartarus, 2019).

Read more